Skip to content

Are YOU the next Versatile Blogger?

October 17, 2011

As I’ve only started this blog about a month and a half ago, you can imagine how thrilled I was when my friend Pete presented me the Versatile Blogger award.  (If you picture a scrawny chick dancing around and chanting “I’m ver-sa-TILE! I’m ver-sa-TILE!” in an incredibly poor imitation of a Native American fire dance, you’ve got it.)  I did that for a good two days or so, until my fiancée couldn’t stand it anymore and finally suggested that I go be versatile upstairs for a while.  Then I got to thinking…what does it mean to be versatile in the blogosphere?  I’m basically using UKate to document my journey to learn to survive and thrive with my new family in my new homeland, but perhaps there could be more to it than that?  I’ll definitely have to give this some more thought.  It’s entirely possible that through blogging, I can give myself at least a rudimentary education in the past, present and future of this part of the world.

In the meantime, I’ve been instructed that part of the process of accepting this award entails listing seven totally random facts about yourself.  If the Oscars did that, I’d watch.  So here goes:

1.  I’ve dated an Olympic tri-athlete.

2.  My red hair and large boobs are completely natural; my enthusiasm for haggis is definitely not.

3.  I met Sandra Bullock and Matthew McConaughey at a party once in Austin.  Matthew was drunk and/or high and Sandra was incredibly polite, even when I went up to her and exploded into something like “Ohmygod, you’re so COOL!”  Bless her heart, she responded with “Thank you, I’m sure you are too.”

4.  I lived for several years in a community full of astronauts and rocket scientists and worked for NASA (briefly).

5.  I have ruthlessly murdered umpteen million small aquatic creatures.  When I was very small, my Nana would bring home bags of shrimp freshly caught on the boats.  The bags often had little crabs and frogs in them, still alive.  I was instructed to take those crabs and frogs outside and play with them ‘until their batteries ran out.’

6.  I don’t like sticky.

7.   I sing the French National Anthem loudly in moments of extreme victory, without the words but with a great deal of arm-waving.  For more minor victories, I resort to Baby Got Back.

The very last step of accepting the Versatile Blogger award involves selecting a number of other blogs to pass it on to.  I’ve been told that I can select anywhere from five to fifteen blogs, but I’m so very new to this entire universe that I don’t even follow that many!  The blogs I follow the most regularly have already gotten the award.  So, here’s my plan – I need to find ten good, solid, entertaining blogs to award.  In order to find them, I would like for you to submit nominations of your favorite blogs, or perhaps your own!  To submit, all you need to do is leave a comment at the end of this post with a link to the blog in question and a single line describing the blog in general.  (I.e. This is the UKate blog, and she mainly writes a lot of drivel about visiting places in England.)  The winners will be selected over the weekend.  Easy peasy!

Thanks again to Pete for this award – I really am terribly excited about it and can’t wait to add the award icon to my blog page.  I’m also looking forward to finding the next ten recipients of the Versatile Blogger Award!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. October 17, 2011 12:00 pm

    http://amazinglymodest.wordpress.com – My other blog for my creative writing where I’m doing a serialized story 😀

    I selected you because even though you think you write about just being in England, it’s a whole lot more than that, you’re giving your views on English food, snacks, what you watch, where you go, basically every single thing you could do in England you blog about and that makes you versatile and deserving of the award. 🙂

    If I met Sandra Bullock I would almost certainly kidnap her and chain her to the radiator so she could never escape. I love her. The best I’ve ever met was Coolio, who hit me in a club, Brian McFadden from Westlife and various ex-X Factor contestants.

  2. October 17, 2011 3:19 pm

    I vote for Perking Pansies which is the irrelevant, irreverent ramblings of an over the hill, gay, myopic ex-pretty boy living with his civil partner is a Moslem country. That’s me by the way!

  3. October 17, 2011 3:43 pm

    http://downhomesouthjersey.com/ – My lifestyle blog about living in South Jersey featuring everything from food, to family, to fun.

  4. October 17, 2011 9:11 pm

    My own blog is about my journey, living in Australia for a year, as well as talking about my favorite things (like books, movies, etc..) and whatever else occurs to me. http://singlikenooneslistening.wordpress.com.

    But my favorite blog to follow is http://growoldwithme2.wordpress.com, which follow’s Amy’s journey as the mother of five, and the ups and downs that her family takes her on. Also full of awesome pictures. : )

  5. October 18, 2011 2:51 am

    Women Travel blog http://www.womentravelblog.com

    I am just passionate about networking and the internet is made for it, especially connecting women travelers, their stories and womens travel businesses. Would love for you to do a post about your blog on the site too.

    I have other sites which focus on women and travel

    thanks – go well

  6. October 19, 2011 12:00 pm

    *tee hee*

    She said boobs.

    • October 19, 2011 5:46 pm

      Large boobs at that! :-X

      • October 20, 2011 10:01 am

        LMAO Bad boys. 😉 Large for my frame, anyway. I’m not singing country music in a blonde wig or anything.

      • Chance permalink
        November 3, 2011 8:48 pm

        Actually, I’m pretty sure I remember you doing that once (or twice).

  7. October 20, 2011 12:47 pm

    Wow, love your life experience!!!! 😀 Keep it up! 😀

  8. October 20, 2011 1:56 pm

    I’m going to recommend a new member of my tribe: http://www.thenomadicfamily.com. Fantastic info about taking the kids and living on the road.

  9. October 20, 2011 6:58 pm

    http://www.culinaryhopscotch.com... I post weekly menus, and chronicle cooking classes I take around the world. Bon appetit!

  10. Tracey permalink
    October 21, 2011 8:16 am

    http://www.flippingcrikey.com about life and travel down under beyond barbecues, surf dudes and swimming pools.

    I just had an immigration medical. All I have to do now is find a skip to chuck myself in.

  11. October 23, 2011 4:22 am

    Hi Kate – Thanks for stopping by my site the other day and the comment. I love the interaction that online publishing provides. I have enjoyed exploring your site too. It’s really interesting to see how a foreigner finds things in your own country. I’m going to be totally unmodest here and nominate my blog for a bit of recognition : http://www.theworldswaiting.com
    Versatility is definitely something I think The World is Waiting encompasses! Enjoy the uk!

Leave a Reply

