Skip to content

Ode to a Bacon Butty

September 22, 2011

Ode to a Bacon Butty

Drool-worthy photo courtesy of Babble.com

Oh Butty, so glamorous!
You make us all amorous
With salty, thick slabs of your ham-orous.

Oh Butty, you’re new to me!
I’ve naught had a clue of thee
But now I devour you gleefully

Oh Butty, you beauty!
I now know your duty
Your sweetness goes straight to my booty.

Oh Butty, you tease!
Don’t leave me, please
I’m begging you down on my knees!

Oh Butty, come back!
You’re a wonderful snack
The best of the pig is the back!

Oh, crap!
I’ve eaten the plate.

*For Pete and my mother-in-law-to-be, who made my butty and thereby, made my day.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. Bob permalink
    September 22, 2011 8:14 pm

    I think you are now ready to graduate to the even more verse-worthy fried-egg butty …

    • September 23, 2011 6:58 am

      That sounds like the best piece of encouragement that I’ve ever received. (Is it possible to put the bacon on the butty too?)

      It’s now 8am in Somerset. I dreamed of bacon butties. No kidding.

  2. September 23, 2011 12:40 am

    Hahaha I loved this, I have a jumbo sausage and egg butty coming tomorrow at work, can’t wait! 😀

    • September 23, 2011 6:59 am

      Jumbo sausage and egg butty?! Be still, my heart! I must try one!

      Glad you were amused. 🙂

      • September 23, 2011 8:41 am

        What the hell am I on about, jumbo sausage and BACON butty!!

      • September 23, 2011 9:56 am

        *drools* You would do that to me. I have no butty today. Deep and abiding sadness. Enjoy your butty for me!

  3. Tracey permalink
    September 23, 2011 3:34 am

    Did you have HP on it?

    • September 23, 2011 7:02 am

      I…did not, no. I have a great deal of respect for HP, as a long-standing traditional sauce for use with meats here, but… It really creeps me out. Okay, here’s what happened – my fiancée came to live with me in Canada for a while and she started introducing me to some British cuisine (in a very basic way since we couldn’t get a lot of the right ingredients there). I, in turn, introduced her to some American delicacies. Peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, mac & cheese, that kind of thing. Very classy. She then decided to make a peanut butter and HP sandwich for me to sample. It took ALL of my willpower not to instantly regurgitate. My question is this – is that a serious British thing or is it just a local/family thing? I have since been VERY wary of HP.

      I know, I know – I’ll get over it..eventually. *shudders*

      • Tracey permalink
        September 23, 2011 9:54 am

        Unthinkable abuse of a Great British icon. HP brown sauce is for all things English breakfasty. I also put it in stews and casseroles and my hubby likes it on his spuds with butter. He’s Irish.

      • September 23, 2011 9:59 am

        *gulps* It scares me. I will persevere, however. Putting it in a stew actually sounds really good…hrm… oooOOOo On a potato? I could definitely get down with that. (I’m Irish-born as well. Go figure.) If it ends up on the jam tarts that Tweet is making today, however, I’m outta here.

      • September 23, 2011 11:42 pm

        Not a fan of brown sauce, a spot of red sauce on a bacon butty doesn’t go a miss though 🙂

      • September 24, 2011 8:06 am

        Wait…what’s red sauce? Is that like ketchup? Back at home, something called ‘red sauce’ refers to a horseradish-spiced dip for shrimp (prawns) and other seafood… I can’t imagine putting that on a bacon sandwich.

        *eyes you suspiciously* Have you been getting into the scrumpy? You’d better eat another butty to take the edge off.

      • September 26, 2011 8:50 am

        Haha no it’s ketchup don’t worry! I’m not strange!

  4. Tracey permalink
    September 23, 2011 3:46 am

    By the way thanks for taking an interest in my post about Benson Saulo. He’s a great leader and role model for young people. I know this is a bit cheeky but I wondered if you and any of your fans could help spread the good word about his coming speech at the united Nations in New york. We have a campaign running called “Give a twoot for Benson Saulo.” I do this work for free because his position is voluntary and unsalaried. To help, all you have to do is tweet this:

    UKate gives a twoot about @bensonsaulo, do you? http://wp.me/p1verc-ae

    Every bit helps. Don’t feel you have to do it though, but thanks so much if you do. I owe you a Bacon Butty.

    • September 23, 2011 7:03 am

      I’d be happy to. 🙂 (A ‘twoot’ is what I think it is, right?)

      • Tracey permalink
        September 23, 2011 9:48 am

        Bravo, UKate, you are a great American Gal, I wish you a thousand bacon butties worth of happiness.

      • September 23, 2011 9:56 am

        Happy to help! I’ll retweet it a coupla different times today; hopefully it’ll help at least a little bit.

  5. October 5, 2011 5:47 pm

    I love your blog!! It made me smile to see how England is seen to others. I know the places you have visited very well and I hope you continue to find the rest of your visit just as fun and interesting, even though you cant get decent chips (crips)

    • October 6, 2011 6:42 am

      Thank you so much! I know what you mean – I always loved showing new people around my old haunts back in Texas. I always ended up learning something new about the place because my eyes just slid past so many things…it helps to have a set of fresh eyes. (Plus, it was invariably entertaining.)

      Thanks for stopping by and for the encouragement!

      Kate

Leave a Reply

