Skip to content

Poker Face, Alcohol-Laced

September 17, 2011

Just watched Lady Gaga’s video for her song, Poker Face.  I have to say, although I really enjoy playing cards, swimming, sex and metaphors, my new life in England doesn’t resemble the video as much as I thought it might.   For one thing, I do not have gloves that match my swimsuit.  (Sorry, I have to start calling it a ‘swimming costume.’)  I also do not put that kind of effort into doing my nails, although I do look pretty spectacular in a wig.

I do have dogs hanging around my life at photographically-appropriate intervals, but they tend to be snoring most of the time, rather than standing around looking noble.  Drooling, possibly.  All over my pleather catsuits.

Rosie, Loki, Sofa

With regard to the parties that have been held here since I’ve arrived…  There’s only been one, and while it did somewhat approximate the strip-poker party in the video, it mostly consisted of several young men playing Call of Duty while Tweet and I did laundry.

There is to be another party here tonight, although I think it’s really only the pre-party for an actual party to be held elsewhere.  All I know for certain is that I’ve been asked to mix the drinks.  According to Lady Gaga, Pepto-Bismol is the drink of choice pool-side and while gambling.  Is that my only choice?!  Hold on, I have to watch it again.

Okay, it appears that I can upgrade to raspberry juice as the evening progresses.  I shall add vodka.   And ice, as a shout-out to my American heritage.

I’m also sincerely hoping to get my first taste of cider tomorrow night.  I keep hearing about this mysterious beverage, which seems to bear absolutely no resemblance to ‘cider’ back at home in the US.  Here, it is alcoholic, locally-made and phenomenally strong, apparently.  I passed a shop in Frome that was selling it in plastic containers in which we’d sell gasoline.  That’s always a good sign.

Alternative Fuel

I’ve also been told that I should try something called ‘Pimms.’  It was offered in a vaguely threatening tone, so I’m a little nervous.  If I don’t blog again after tomorrow night, BEWARE OF PIMMS.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2011 3:45 am

    Your dogs are adorable. Beware the cider, that stuff is worse then Mississippi moonshine!

    • September 18, 2011 10:40 am

      Thank you! The pups are Rosie (the Jack Russell mix) and Loki (the lab), and they have such a rough life…having to spend all day being loved on, fed and pampered. One day, I want such a life, I’m tellin’ ya. Regarding the cider…I tried it last night. I have to say, it wasn’t *too* terrible, until my mother-in-law-to-be compared it to a urine sample from someone with a raging UTI, and my opinion of it dropped significantly. I couldn’t finish the glass. I’ll try to give it another shot sometime when I’m feeling bolder, or less concerned with my health. 😉

  2. Chance permalink
    September 19, 2011 7:37 pm

    Ah ha! So that’s the famous Rosie and Loki. They’re both adorable!

    • September 21, 2011 12:24 pm

      Thank you, thank you! I shall pass on the compliment to their mother. (Little Rosie is SO MUCH her mama’s baby…Tweet is slightly jealous.)

  3. September 19, 2011 9:36 pm

    I would quite violently suggest you try Pear Kopparberg and Toffee Apple Brothers (Second bottle from the right of the line of Brothers), you have both brands in your last photo, they are worth getting drunk for and I hope the Pimms wasnt a bad experience for you, I love it when it’s Pimms a clock, it’s my favourite time of day 😀

    • September 21, 2011 12:33 pm

      I am absolutely going to try those ciders! I tried my first one a couple of nights ago, from a local farm shop…and for the life of me, I cannot remember the name of the cider we got. It was in one of those huge barrels in the store and we just filled the size container we wanted…it was fantastic. Eileen made a comparison of the cider to someone with a UTI immediately after we poured it, which did somewhat sour my reaction. I just couldn’t stop thinking that. The Pimms did get better after a few sips. I have a suspicion that it’s much stronger than it looks…I was a slightly tipsy after half a glass.

Leave a Reply

